England Finance

Feb 13 2018

Cheapest Car Insurance in New Jersey, car insurance in nj.#Car #insurance #in #nj


Car insurance in nj

Car insurance in nj

Are you overpaying?

Comparison quotes are the cheapest way to save

Car insurance in nj

*rates based on survey data – Spring 2017

Cheap Comparison Quotes Free and Customized

Cheapest Car Insurance in New Jersey

The Garden State of New Jersey is the most densely populated state in America. But that doesn t keep New Jerseyans from welcoming tourists into their borders all through the year. Tourists drive to this New England state to see beautiful Cape May, historic Trenton and refreshing Surf City. New Jersey has American history on every corner, and visitors and residents alike can see Revolutionary War and Civil War re-enactments, visit the boardwalk or take one of the many tours through the places America s historical figures have lived, worked and died. Driving up the Atlantic Coast must involve a good drive through this All-American state. CheapCarInsurance.net wants to keep New Jersey visitors and residents safe on that drive, so this list of helpful New Jersey car insurance information should make the drive a little safer.

LAWS REGULATIONS

Don t take a side trip to hunt for car insurance laws and regulations for America s richest state. Stay on the road and look through this easy-to-read list of facts, necessary for every New Jersey driver.

Minimum Requirements for Car Insurance in New Jersey

  • The New Jersey Department of Insurance requires all drivers in the state to be covered by Liability Insurance, Personal Injury Protection and Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage.
  • Liability Coverage minimums:
    • $15,000 per individual to cover bodily injury or death.
    • $30,000 per accident involving bodily injuries or deaths.
    • $5,000 for property damage.
  • Personal Injury Protection minimums:
    • $15,000 per individual
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist minimums:
    • $15,000 per individual to cover bodily injury or death.
    • $30,000 per accident involving bodily injuries or deaths.
    • $5,000 for property damage.

New Driver Licensing Requirements:

  • According to the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) every driver who operates a vehicle in the state must carry a New Jersey driver license. The state holds to an extensive Graduated Driver License (GDL) program that includes three separate options based on age. A full explanation of these options can be found on the MVC website.
  • Student Learner s Permit. Beginning at age 16, applicants may obtain this permit by passing the vision and knowledge tests, paying the fee and enrolling in a driver education course. While holding this permit, the following applies:
    • The applicant must hold the permit for 6 months.
    • The applicant may not drive between 11pm and 5am.
    • The applicant must be accompanied by a New Jersey licensed driver age 21 or older who has at least 3 years of driving experience.
    • Only one passenger is allowed unless accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.
    • No cell phone use is permitted
    • Certain restricted hours are exempted for specific activities listed on the MVC s website.
  • Probationary License. At age 17, applicants are eligible for a Probationary license. The applicant must fulfill the requirements for the Student Learner s Permit and pass the road skills test. While holding this license, the following applies:
    • The applicant may not drive between 11pm and 5am.
    • Only one passenger is allowed unless accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.
    • No cell phone use is permitted
  • Basic Driver License To obtain a full driver license, applicants must meet the following requirements:
    • Must be at least 18 years of age
    • Complete the unsupervised driving period (Probationary License phase)
    • Visit a local MVC office to have the license changed to a Basic Driver License.
  • Vision Exam. To obtain an unrestricted Basic License, the applicant must pass the vision test with a visual acuity of at least 20/50 in at least one eye. Corrective lenses may be worn, and failure of the test results in the applicant s responding to an eye care physician for an evaluation.
  • Knowledge Test. The knowledge test is fully based on the New Jersey Driver s Manual and consists of 50 questions. Applicants must achieve an 80 percent to pass, and multiple language options are available.
  • Road Skills Test. A 10 to 15 minute road test is an evaluation of the applicant s ability to safely maneuver a vehicle. The vehicle, provided by the applicant, must be licensed, registered and insured, and it must be in proper working order. More information for the road test can found on the MVC s website and in the driver s manual. A few of the skills tested are:
    • Backing
    • Stopping at appropriate signs
    • Approaching intersections and/or corners
    • Stopping smoothly
    • Correct posture
    • Turning around
    • Parallel parking
    • Steering
    • Yield right-of-way
  • Failure of the road skills test requires a 2-week waiting period for a re-test. If the applicant fails the test more than twice, the MVC may require a 6-month waiting period to allow additional driving practice.
  • Fees. New Jersey drivers are required to pay the following license fees:
    • Student Learner s Permit, $10.
    • Examination Permit (for drivers beginning the process at age 17), $10
    • Basic Driver License, $24

DUI/DWI Laws

  • BAC limit: .08 New Jersey s MVC website explains the penalties for a DUI conviction in the state. The Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) exacts fees from offenders for each offense, and listed below are the major penalties involved in New Jersey DUI convictions:
  • First Offense:
    • Fine: $250 to $400
      • BAC .10 or greater: $300 to $500
    • Jail: maximum 30 days
    • License suspension: 3 months
      • BAC .10 or greater: 7 months to 1 year
    • IDRC: 12 to 48 hours and $100 fee
      • BAC .10 or greater: 12 to 48 hours and $230 fee
    • Drunk driving fund: $100
    • Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund (AERF) fee: $100
    • Surcharge: $1,000 per year for 3 years
    • Neighborhood services fund (NSF) fee: $75
  • Second Offense within 10 Years:
    • Fine: $500 to $1,000
    • Jail: 48 hours to 90 days
    • License suspension: 2 years
    • IDRC: 12 to 48 hours and $280 fee
    • Drunk driving fund: $100
    • Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund (AERF) fee: $100
    • Surcharge: $1,000 per year for 3 years
    • Neighborhood services fund (NSF) fee: $75
    • Ignition Interlock Device (IID) during suspension and 1-3 years following reinstatement.
  • Third Offense within 10 Years:
    • Fine: $1,000
    • Jail: 180 days
    • License suspension: 10 years
    • IDRC: 12 to 48 hours and $280 fee
    • Drunk driving fund: $100
    • Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund (AERF) fee: $100
    • Surcharge: $1,500 per year for 3 years
    • Neighborhood services fund (NSF) fee: $75
    • Ignition Interlock Device (IID) during suspension and 1-3 years following reinstatement.

Texting Driving Laws

According to Distraction.gov, New Jersey has banned texting and all handheld cell phone use for all drivers. Additionally, bus drivers and novice drivers are banned from hands-free cell phone devices.

Unique Laws

New Jersey wants its citizen to always be on their best behavior. A few of their laws are great examples of this, such as the prohibition of using profanity within the town limits of Raritan. It is also illegal (and apparently impolite) to walk cows down Berkley Heights Main Street, and one may not eat pickles on Sunday!

STATS

Best Cheap Car Insurance Quotes for New Jersey

Bergen County Car Insurance

The most populous county in New Jersey, Bergen County lies in the state s northeast corner, home to nearly 1 million residents. Its lies within the New York City metro area, across the George Washington Bridge over the Hudson from Manhattan. There are 70 incorporated communities, but no large cities. Its most populous city, Hackensack, is the county seat.


Written by admin


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *